November 11, 2011                                                                                          

DSBN Students to Lead Rick Hansen Tour Through Niagara 

Next week, the Rick Hansen 25th Anniversary Relay will wind its way through Niagara. A number of DSBN students will have the honour of being medal bearers in the retracing of Rick Hansen’s original Man in Motion tour. As participants, students will carry the official Rick Hansen Medal across a 250 meter section of the tour. Students and staff of schools along the route will be out in full force to support their colleagues as they run/walk/bike their stretch of the tour.

As medal bearers, students will receive the event’s official Nike track suit and a Rick Hansen replica medal. The DSBN students will be among the 7,000 medal bearers helping to complete the cross-Canada tour.

In August, the Rick Hansen 25th Anniversary Relay began retracing the Canadian segment of the original Man In Motion World Tour, traveling 12,000 kilometres, through 600 communities. The tour began in Cape Spear, Newfoundland and Labrador, and will conclude in Vancouver, British Columbia, on May 22, 2012. For more information on the tour, please visit


Participating Schools/Students: 


Sunday, November 13 –  

Beamsville District Secondary School student Ben Posavad will participate in the run on behalf of his school.

Contact: Tammy Zonneveld, Principal, 905-563-8267 


Monday November 14 –  

Sir Winston Churchill Secondary School will host host a beginning of the day celebration at 10:00 a.m. The celebration will include an address from the Rick Hansen team, a slide show presentation and a transfer of the official Rick Hansen medal to student medal bearer Justine Leemet. SWC is located at 101 Glen Morris Drive.

Contact: Cairine Coulis-Brown, Vice-Principal, 905-684-6349 


West Park Secondary School student Devon Roberto will run his leg of the marathon at approximately 10:20 a.m. in St. Catharines.

Contact: Lynda Baiano, Principal, 905-684-8708 


Thorold Secondary Student Ashley Bellamy will participate in the event at 2:00 p.m.

Contact: Krista Miller, Principal, 905-227-1188 


Prince of Wales Public School (Thorold) student Odin Anderson will carry the Rick Hansen medal at approximately 2:10 p.m.

Contact: Tony D’Alessandro, Principal, 905-227-1321 


Laura Secord Secondary School has nominated Emily Beatty to participate in the 25th Anniversary Event. 

 Contact: Karen Simpson, Principal, 905-934-8501 


Tuesday, November 15 –  

James Morden Public School student Jenafer Winny will take part in the run in Niagara Falls at approximately 10:30 a.m.

 Contact: Mark Piazza, Principal, 905-358-5011 


Fort Erie Elementary Grade 8 student Dalton Bird will participate in the run outside the school on Wintemute Street at approximately 3:30 p.m.

 Contact: Sherry Storrey, Principal, 905-871-2673 


Ridgeway-Crystal Beach High School student Zoey Perchaluk will be passed the medal at approximately 3:40 p.m.

Contact: Marie Hockley, 905-894-3461 


Wednesday, November 16 -  

Stevensville Public School's Kelsey Hill will be walking in the event at approximately 10:30 a.m.

Contact: Paul O'Melia, Principal, 905-382-3122

Ridgeway Public School student Mackenzie Bradnam will take part in the event at approximately 11:25 a.m.

Contact: Lynn Tisi, Principal, 905-894-3751 

Crystal Beach Public School student Joshua Pearson will run at approximately 11:30 a.m. The Rick Hansen team will then break for lunch at Crystal Beach before continuing on towards Port Colborne.

Contact: Sam Shad, Principal, 905-894-3900 


Thursday November 17 –  

Port Colborne High School will host a beginning of the day celebration at 9:15 a.m. The celebration will include an address from the Rick Hansen team, a slide show presentation and a transfer of the official Rick Hansen medal to student medal bearer Carly Richardson. Carly will begin the day’s marathon at approximately 9:35 a.m. Port Colborne High School is located at 211 Elgin Street in Port Colborne.

Contact: Nigel Evans, Principal, 905-835-1186 

W.E. Brown Public School's Megan Kanyo was chosen as the school's medal bearer. Megan will be running the relay team into W.E. Brown about 10:30 a.m. as they stop for a quick break before continuing on with the tour.

Contact: Melissa Predote, Teacher, 905-899-3471

Steele Street Elementary School student Dean Miller will represent his school in the Rick Hansen 25th Anniversary event.

Contact: Andre Ceci, Principal, 905-834-4333 


Dewitt Carter Public School student Meghan Kapellas has been named the school’s official medal bearer. 

 Contact: Jay MacJanet, Principal, 905-834-7440