May 15, 2012                                                                             

DSBN Celebrates Excellence in Education

On Thursday, May 17, the District School Board of Niagara and OSSTF District 22 will recognize outstanding public high school students achieving success both inside and outside the classroom at the annual Excellence in Education Awards ceremony in Niagara Falls. The ceremony will take place at 6:00 p.m. at the Doubletree Resort and Spa on Fallsview Boulevard. 

The Awards honour the students who excel academically, while making significant contributions to their school and home communities. The Awards are presented to a graduating student from each of the 20 secondary schools across the DSBN.  

“The students recognized at this event have all done an impressive job balancing their academic pursuits with extra-curricular, athletic and social activities,” says John Stainsby, DSBN Superintendent of Secondary Schools. “Congratulations to all our students who demonstrate such commitment to their education, schools and communities.”    

“The Excellence in Education celebration is the highlight of the school year for me,” says Daniel Peat, President, OSSTF District 22. “I look forward to being inspired by the dedication and accomplishments of the multi-talented young people who have been chosen to receive this award in each DSBN school.  The future is in good hands with these caring, committed young citizens leading the way!” 

The following is a list of students who will be recognized at the annual Excellence in Education dinner on May 17. 

A.N. Myer – Vanessa Rampado 

Beamsville District – Kristiaan Hansen 

Welland Centennial – Sophie Helpard 

E.L. Crossley – Laura Gemmel 

Eastdale – Jessica Cook 

Eden – Isaac Hunter 

Fort Erie Secondary – Tiffany-Lynne Johnston 

Governor Simcoe – Ben Bradford 

Grimsby Secondary – Patrick Kim 

Kernahan Park – Samantha Hunt 

Laura Secord Secondary – Joe Salter 

Lifetime Learning Centre – Terry Francis 

Port Colborne – Anusha Kamesh 

St. Catharines Collegiate – Jordyn Divok 

Stamford Collegiate – Joelle Schonberg 

Sir Winston Churchill – Evan Vassallo 

South Lincoln – Jake Thomas 

Thorold Secondary – Katherine Stockman 

West Park – Christie Michalko 

Westlane – Viktor Kapetanovic